Public Safety Division

The Public Safety Division of the Androscoggin County Sheriff’s Office is made up of 5 Units consisting of Rural County Patrol, Canine Unit, Poland Patrol, Criminal Investigations and Surface Water Response Team.


The Division is responsible for providing police services for communities that have no organized police department in the County. Under MRSA Title 30-A Sec. 452  The Sheriff in each county, in person or by the sheriff’s deputies , to the extent the Sheriff  undertakes to patrol, shall patrol those areas in the county that have no local law enforcement.   Androscoggin County has 8 communities that have no organized police departments which are the Towns of Poland, Minot, Durham, Wales, Greene, Leeds, Turner and Livermore.


The Division is made up of 1 Captain with the title of Public Safety Director, 1 Lieutenant with the title of Assistant Public Safety Director, 3 Detectives with 1 having the rank of 1st Sergeant, 11 Full-time Patrol Deputies, 10 Part-time Patrol Deputies, 9 Dispatchers and 5 Surface Water Response members.



. : Subscribe to our Newsletter

Your Name:
E-mail address: